top of page

Rain

"Let the rain kiss you. Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops. Let the rain sing you a lullaby." - Langston Hughes

Happy Friday! I think I'll make it a custom to post photo stories on Fridays because - let's face it - we all need a break by the end of the week ;)

I was clearing out some old photos and found a few of my favorite rainy days from the summer. I'm a petrichor fan - "the smell of the earth after it rains". I love the lighting that it creates, the focus it can bring, and how it brings two people under the same umbrella. I love everything about it. Here are some moments in the rain.

Taken today - some pepper plans my mom is putting in her garden, holding onto rain in their leaves.

My E and I reading and relaxing. One of my favorite photos of him to this day :)

An accurate depiction of my view for the first half of the summer - on the road.

My grandma beside a church in Beaufort, NC. The rain stopped just before we arrived and started as we were leaving. Someone was watching over us.

On the trails at Crystal Bridges Museum, my favorite place in the world with my favorite person in the world.

My sister at the beach in NC. The waves were choppy when we first arrived but leveled out to a lake by the end of the week.

The end of the rain - my last trip to the cardiologist for a long time. I've been going for checkups since I was a baby, but my heart has finally healed up. The walls of the children's hospital always brought me joy while I was there. Thankful for my health and glad to be out :)

----------

Tell me about your favorite moments from the summer in the comments section on my homepage! I hope you all have a blessed weekend, and may some rain fall in your future ;)


bottom of page